Observations – 2 Poems

I watched your toes bleed-
I think you curled them
under
as you got nervous when you
spoke.
They scratched against the rock,
perhaps,
you didn’t notice
but I watched,
I watched the blood
leak out of the
top of your
parched nub of a
toe.

I watched your toes bleed-
I sat next to you,
it made me want to laugh
but
I understand your nerves
and feel for you,
like the rocks
felt your flesh
tear against their own
surfaces
and knew you didn’t notice.

~

Parallel lines
We walk next to
But never touch
Or cross
Am I an omen
Perhaps?
The dreaded albatross
Who knows
But our heads remain
Bows pointed straight
Ahead
This is what
The self is all
About
Don’t look
Don’t open your
Mouth
I laugh out loud
But there you go
Already turning away
To avoid
The sway
Of my hips
And the pat pat
Of footsteps too close
To your own

Leave a Reply

