Hymn

To Consume

Consume:
to altogether
take up
you,
altogether take up
me
you, consume
me
devour me,
you to I –
the object
of your
consummation;
I to you –
the subject
invading, no,
enveloping the soft folds
of my brain
suffering from
consumption
this wasting disease
of being
overwhelmed by
you
eat me
drink me
but it cannot be
measured,
calculated,
tallied –
our resource
will never run
dry.

You + Me

Perhaps,
it was never a choice.
We were found and bound
by a predisposed affinity
for each other’s
jokes-that-no-one-else-gets,
for the beauty that we can only find
in the surreptitious smiles,
or the fact that when I
stare at you, I see,
maybe selfishly,
me in the glassy surface
of your eyes
and know I have always been
held in the curves of your soul.

2 thoughts on “Hymn

Leave a Reply

