Attempted Reconciliation

Silence, personified 

I let silence offend me,
though it is my close friend,
though I wrap it all around
myself,
cloak myself in it,
in its heavy folds;
I reside in such
deep silence,
where I hear the universe shudder and sigh,
I tell it it is my one 
companion,
then I cast it away and say,
“Leave me be.”

Change 

i have felt the winds of change
sometimes
they blow past my face
and i smile
the warmth is 
comforting, somehow
but sometimes,
like now,
despite the 
swollen warmth
of the air outside,
don’t be deceived,
i have felt the winds of change
brush past my face
and up my spine
sending shivers
with cold tendrils
throughout my body
and across my skin,
there its fingers
write whispers
which i can only hope —
but i know 
they are
true

Leave a Reply

