Loud – a poem for you and I and Seattle Pacific

I wrote this today after overhearing a woman say “Columbine” in the street of my suburbia in Seattle. I am a student at SPU. I am confused–about how to think and to feel about the events that transpired on a campus that has been my home and haven for the past 3 years, as things have been altered forever after Thursday. 

It was whispered
In the street
But just as loud as
The image of reds and blue
On screen
For hours
And we watched from safety
A place too familiar
Defamiliarized
I didn’t know it anymore
We don’t know it
Anymore
Your bright colors changed it
You must have known
How loud taking a soul
Is–energy has to go
Somewhere–
And you rang it out in quiet halls
And now even whispers
Of the past brought to present
On a busy street
In a big city echo like
The sirens you brought
And are too loud

 

But “Heaven couldn’t wait for you”. 

 

Leave a Reply

